Names in orther Languages!

Η θέση σας που επικοινωνεί στην ελληνική γλώσσα.
romiosini

Names in orther Languages!

Post by romiosini »

Does anyone know Greek and Russian? Or Arabic? I've been wondering lately how some names get translated. Usually Russian names are practicly almost like the greek names just with "-yi" at end. Like Vasily (Russian), Basil (English), Vasilios (Greek).

But I'm wondering about the name James! in the English language James and Jacob are 2 distinctive and seperate names. Just like in Greek, "Iakovos" (James) and "Iakov" (Jacob). I was wondering how is it in Russian? Is there any distinction in between these two names? (Also arabic whoever knows!)

Thanks in Advance!

the uneducated
Romiosini

Justin2

Post by Justin2 »

Ah, I can help you on this one, Rominisi! I'm an Arabic student right now in fact! James in Arabic is Iakob (or Yakob). So there's a similar line there in the Arabic and the Greek (the Arabs don't have a "v" sound, just a "b" and an "f"). I remember looking at a mural at a monastery, in the narthex, and racking my brains trying to find James :lol: Then I consulted with some Greek friends and found out about the whole Iakovos thing. I'm guessing that James is Yakov in Russian, but I could difinitely be wrong!

romiosini

Post by romiosini »

Justin wrote:

Ah, I can help you on this one, Rominisi! I'm an Arabic student right now in fact! James in Arabic is Iakob (or Yakob). So there's a similar line there in the Arabic and the Greek (the Arabs don't have a "v" sound, just a "b" and an "f"). I remember looking at a mural at a monastery, in the narthex, and racking my brains trying to find James :lol: Then I consulted with some Greek friends and found out about the whole Iakovos thing. I'm guessing that James is Yakov in Russian, but I could difinitely be wrong!

Thank you Justin! So you're telling me that James and Jacob is the same thing in Arabic?

Justin2

Post by Justin2 »